Century Club: Don Frick

Tuesday, November 2, 2021
Number of days:
1 day
Sunday, October 31, 2021
Number of days:
1 day
Thursday, October 21, 2021
Number of days:
1 day
Friday, October 15, 2021
Number of days:
1 day
Wednesday, October 13, 2021
Number of days:
1 day

Took Allure to the pumpout, then for fuel and then a final single haned sail of the seaon.

Sunday, October 10, 2021
Number of days:
1 day
Saturday, October 9, 2021
Number of days:
1 day
Friday, October 8, 2021
Number of days:
1 day
  • The Angry Mermaid
Saturday, October 2, 2021 to Sunday, October 3, 2021
Number of days:
2 days
Monday, September 20, 2021
Number of days:
1 day
Saturday, September 18, 2021
Number of days:
1 day
Tuesday, September 14, 2021
Number of days:
1 day
Saturday, September 11, 2021 to Sunday, September 12, 2021
Number of days:
2 days
  • Dusk on Bodkin Creek

We sailed over to Marlett's on Bodkin Creek and met up with 10 other JSO boats.

Saturday, September 4, 2021 to Sunday, September 5, 2021
Number of days:
2 days
Friday, August 27, 2021 to Sunday, August 29, 2021
Number of days:
3 days

Friday we went out for an afternoon sail off of Rock Hall, Saturday we sailed over to Eagle Cove for lunch and a swin and then back to the marina.  Sunday we sailed over to Back Creek off of Bodkin Creek where we anchored for lunch and a swim and then sailed back.

Saturday, August 21, 2021 to Sunday, August 22, 2021
Number of days:
2 days

We sailed to Port Annapolis for the JSO gathering Saturday night and then back to Rock Hall on Sunday.

Friday, August 20, 2021
Number of days:
1 day
Saturday, August 14, 2021 to Sunday, August 15, 2021
Number of days:
2 days
  • Annapolis Yacht Basin at night

We sailed over to Annapolis with our daughter and then back again the next day.

Thursday, August 12, 2021
Number of days:
1 day

I went out on a friend Hunter 375 to fly his Asym as we are thinking about purchasing one for Allure.

Saturday, July 31, 2021 to Sunday, August 1, 2021
Number of days:
2 days

We sailed up the Chester River and anchored in Quennstown Creek with Domino.  Sunday we motored back to Rock Hall in the rain.

Wednesday, July 28, 2021 to Friday, July 30, 2021
Number of days:
3 days
  • The Annapolis mooring field

We sailed over to Annapolis Wednesday afternoon and picked up ball #31.  Went into town and then returned to the boat to watch the races.  The boats went out about 5:30 and then came back about 6:30.  The races were canceled becasue of lack of wind.  Thursday morning, after another trip into town, we sail over to Bay Bridge Marina.  Friday we sailed back to Rock Hall.

Sunday, July 25, 2021
Number of days:
1 day
Saturday, July 24, 2021
Number of days:
1 day
Monday, July 19, 2021
Number of days:
1 day
Sunday, July 18, 2021
Number of days:
1 day
Saturday, July 17, 2021
Number of days:
1 day
Thursday, July 15, 2021
Number of days:
1 day
Saturday, July 10, 2021 to Monday, July 12, 2021
Number of days:
3 days

We were supposed to go to Martha's Vineyard on our friends Jeanneau Velsco 37 on July 9th, but delayed a day to allow Hurricane Elsa pass.  Saturday morning, we headed down the Sakonett River headed for Martha's Vineyard but as we approached the Rhode Island Sound, the sea were 6 feet plus so we turned around and went back to Sakoneet Marina.  Sunday we motored over to the Kickamuit River where we anchored for lunch.  We then motored to Bristol and toured the waterfront by boat finally ending up at the New England Boatyard for the evening.  Monday we motored back to Sakonett Marina.

Sunday, July 4, 2021 to Monday, July 5, 2021
Number of days:
2 days

We motored (no wind) up to Worton Creek and rafted up for the night with Shibumi.  Motored back the next day.

Saturday, July 3, 2021
Number of days:
1 day

We went out for an afternoon sail and then anchored outside Rock Hall Harbor where we had a nice dinner and then watched the fireworks from the cockpit of Allure.  After the fireworks, we motored back into the slip in the dark.

Monday, June 28, 2021
Number of days:
1 day

After completeing ASA118 on the previous two days, Myra got a chance to practice what she learned and to contrast the handling of the school boat, an Island Packet, and Allure.

Sunday, June 27, 2021
Number of days:
1 day
Saturday, June 26, 2021
Number of days:
1 day

Spent the afternoon sailing off Rock Hall with 18-20 knots of wind and full sails pushing Allure much harder than usual with fellow marina mates Gus and Peter.

Sunday, June 20, 2021 to Friday, June 25, 2021
Number of days:
6 days
  • Anchored in Queenstown with the Flot
  • Downwind run to St Michaels

Sunday, we dingyed out to the fottila raft for a sundowner and planning the next days destination.  Monday we sailed over to Bodkin Creek where we anchored for lunch and then sailed to Eagle Cove where all 7 seven boats rafted together.  Just after entering the Magothy River, a storm came through with thunder, lightining and white out rain that lasted about 15 mintues.Winds during the storm touched 48 knots.  Tuesday we sail up the Chester River and rafted up on Queenstown Creek.  Wednesday, we sailed down to St Michaels where we anchored individually in the harbor and all dingyed into town for dinner.  After dinner, we motor overed to Leeds Creek where we rafted for the night.  Thursday we sailed to over to an achorage on the Rhode River.  Friday, we broke off from the group and sailed back to Rock Hall.

Saturday, June 19, 2021
Number of days:
1 day
Sunday, June 13, 2021
Number of days:
1 day
Saturday, June 12, 2021
Number of days:
1 day
Tuesday, June 8, 2021
Number of days:
1 day
Friday, June 4, 2021 to Saturday, June 5, 2021
Number of days:
2 days
  • Learning to tie a cleat hitch
  • At the helm

Friday night I sailed over to Spring Cove Marina and met up with Cool Change and Charis.  The Sea Cadets arrived Saturday morning and after intorductions, we boarded the boats.  There were 6 cadets on Allure and each was assigned a starting station (helmsman, navigator, port trimmer, starboard trimmer, lookout and cabintop trimmer) prior to leaving the slip.  As we sailed accross the bay, the senor cadet was in charge of rotating the cadets through each station.  We anchored for lunch in Bodkin Creek and after some swiming we roared back accross the bay on a beam reach and then had a cookout at Spring Cove.  All had a great time.

Friday, May 28, 2021 to Sunday, May 30, 2021
Number of days:
2 days

Our son, his girlfriend, his college roomate and his fiance joined us onboard for the weekend.  We sailed over to Annapolis on Friday morining arriving at the Yacht Basin just before a 40 hour strech of moderate to heavy rain.   The positive is that Annapolis was empty so we were able to visit several bars and resturants without the usual large crowds.  Sunday morning, the rain gave way to overcast skys and we sailed back to Rock Hall.

Friday, May 21, 2021 to Tuesday, May 25, 2021
Number of days:
4 days

We left Burnt Store Marina about 10:00 on Friday morning for the planned 28 hour trip to Marathon Key on Selkie, my sister and brother-in-laws new to them Catalina 42 MKII.  The wind was 15 knots out of the east and forecast to build to 20 knots so we were able to sail down the west coast of Florida past Sannabel Island and then Fort Myers Beach.  As the winds increase during the afternoon, the autopilot decided to quit so we hand steered the rest of the trip.  By evening, the winds had built to the upper 20s and shifted to a more south easterly direction making it difficult to sail so we furled the sails that were still out and motored the rest of the way to Marathon.  During the night, we saw the wind touch 30 knots and the sea were 4 to 6 feet making for a bumpy ride.  We arrived in Marathon a little after 13:00 on Saturday, cleaned up the boat, made some minor repairs to the rub rail and then rested.  Sunday, the wind was out of the east so we motored east in Hawk Channel to Channel 5 where we went inside to the ICW and continued to the inside of Islamarado anchoring in Cowpens Anchorage, a beautiful spot.  Monday we motored up the ICW to Crandon Park Marina on Key Biscayne with the skyline of Miami as a back drop.  Tuesday, Myra and I got off the Selkie and flew back to the Chesapeake area on Wednesday.  Selkie continued up the coast over the next 6 weeks arriving in Rock Hall in early July.

Monday, May 17, 2021 to Tuesday, May 18, 2021
Number of days:
2 days

On Monday I compounded and waxed the deck and on Tuesday I did the same for the cockpit.  Finally done.

Saturday, May 15, 2021
Number of days:
1 day

Myra and I again went out for an afternoon sail letting the wind dictate our course.

Friday, May 14, 2021
Number of days:
1 day

Myra and I went for a sail out in the bay.

Tuesday, May 11, 2021 to Wednesday, May 12, 2021
Number of days:
2 days

I spent 2 days lightly compounding and waxing the cabintop.  At this point only the deck and cockpit are left to compound and wax.

Sunday, May 2, 2021
Number of days:
1 day

We went out for a couple hour sail in the bay with our friends Gus and Maura.  Winds were about 7-8 knots so it was a nice gently sail.

Monday, April 19, 2021
Number of days:
1 day

Gratitude lifted Allure up off the ground shortly before lunch.  While the yard crew was at lunch, I put a quick coat of bottom paint on the bottom of the keel where it was sitting on wood blocks.  After lunch, they gently lowered Allure into the water and I motored to Osprey Point Marina.

Tuesday, April 13, 2021 to Sunday, April 18, 2021
Number of days:
5 days

On Tuesday, I uncovered Allure and washed the deck and hull.  The next day I spent sanding, scraping and preparing the hull for bottom paint, my favorite job.  On Thurday, I painted the hull with a fresh coat of black Pacifica Plus.  Saturday I spent the day lightly compounding and waxing the hull.  Myra even helped by taping and waxing the waterline.  On Sunday, I finished waxing the hull and installed the propeller, new anodes and the canvas dodger, bimini and connector.

Wednesday, April 7, 2021
Number of days:
1 day

I ran down the river to Walker Marine in Cape Coral where the boat was pulled and placed in a service rack.  After flushing the engine, drying the bilge, disconnecting the batteries and washing and covering the boat, they placed the inside in her rack for storeage until the fall when we return.

Tuesday, April 6, 2021
Number of days:
1 day

After drilling, tapping and inserting a small temporary stainless steel plug in the remnants of plastic plug left int he fuel pump/cooler module, I went down to Gulf Harbor Marina to fill up esCape in preparation for summer storage.

Monday, April 5, 2021
Number of days:
1 day

I left Shaw Canal planing to run down to Gulf Harbour Marina to fuel up and then take esCape back to Walker Marine Group in Cape Coral for summer storage.  Shortly after I got up onto plane out in the river, I noticed an unsual smell, came off of plane and open the engine cover.  I could immediately see that the plastic plug in the fuel pump/cooler module had failed and the engine was pumping seawater into the bilge. I had had one of these plugs fail several years ago after the water pump was rebuilt so I had extra plugs on board.  I was unable to remove the remants of the old plug and later discovered that the plug had apparently been JB Welded into place 2 months earlier when the water pump was again replaced.  Left with no other options, I called SeaTow for my first ever tow back to the dock.  

Saturday, March 27, 2021
Number of days:
1 day

We drove to Marco Island where we met our new friends Dave and Jeanine and boarded thier 26' Regal along with another couple.  We motored through the back water behind Marco Island, past Goodland and out into the gulf for the run down to Everglades City.  We had lunch at the historic Everglades Rod and Gun Club.  After lunch we came back around the outside of Marco Island past the beaches and and high rises.  We then dropped anchor inside Coconut Island, a popular place for people to anchor, swim and play on the sandy beach.  

Tuesday, March 23, 2021
Number of days:
1 day

Myra and I took our last sunset cruise of the season out onto the Caloosahatchee River.

Friday, March 12, 2021
Number of days:
1 day

We cruised down the Caloosahatchee River to Pinchers Resturant at Tarpon Point with our son and his girlfriend who were visiting from Michigan.  After lunch, we continued down the river to Sanabel Island and then out into the gulf.

Thursday, March 11, 2021
Number of days:
1 day

Cruised down to Gulf Harbour Marina to fuel up before our son's visit.

Tuesday, March 9, 2021
Number of days:
1 day

Changed the engine oil, filter and outdrive oil on esCape.

Tuesday, March 2, 2021
Number of days:
1 day
  • How not to tie a stern brest line
  • How not to tie a bow brest line

Myra and I rode down the Caloosahatchee River to Deep Lagoon to have lunch.  While we were tied up at the dock, the boat in front of us drifted back into the bow of our boat.  No damage to our boat but it scuffed the motor housing on his boat.  He insisted the damage was my fault even though his boat was improperly tied (with 2 loose brest lines and no springs) and moving back and forth 3 or 4 feet my boat didn't move more than 6 inches.  In the end, insurance ruled it was his fault.  

Sunday, February 28, 2021
Number of days:
1 day

Myra and I took a ride out to the river and then up the Lido Canal.  We went past an old neighbor Rick's new house on the water and he was outside so we stopped and talked for a while.

Monday, February 22, 2021
Number of days:
1 day

I drove up to Safe Cove in Port Charlotte for the sea trial of my sister and brother-in-law's Catalina 42 MK II.  The marina launch the boat and we went down the canal checking the motor, rudder, sails, etc.  The seatrial went well and they became the proud owners a couple days later.

Friday, February 19, 2021
Number of days:
1 day

I took a ride on esCape down the Caloosahatchee River and then back to the house.

Wednesday, February 10, 2021
Number of days:
1 day

Dave and I took a ride on esCape down to the Green Pariot Resturant at Salty Sam's Marina behind Fort Myers Beach.

Tuesday, February 9, 2021
Number of days:
1 day

Took a ride on esCape around to Horton Park and then up the Everest Canal to check check out the construction of a friends new dock.

Friday, January 29, 2021
Number of days:
1 day

Took a ride up (east) the Caloosahatchee River past Fort Myers to the other Boathouse for lunch with my neighbor Wayne and my sailing buddy from Kent Island Dave.  Wayne had lived on the upper part of the river back in the 1990s so he knew a lot of history of the area.

Sunday, January 24, 2021
Number of days:
1 day

Cruised down the Caloosahatchee River to the Boathouse in Cape Coral with Myra and Aly.  Had a nice lunch and then went a little further soutwest on the river to the Little Shell Island area looking for dolphins.  None to be found on this particular day so we returned home.

Friday, January 22, 2021
Number of days:
1 day

Took a ride down the Caloosahatchee River to Gulf Harbour Marina to fill up with fuel.

Friday, January 15, 2021
Number of days:
1 day

Cruised down the Caloosahatchee River to the Gulf of Mexico and then down to the southern end of Fort Myers Beach where we meet up with 5 other boats from the Walker Marine group.  We went in Big Carlos Pass and motored up to the resturant at Fishtail Marina.  After lunch, we and three other boats motored up along the inside of Fort Myers Beach and then out into the gulf at the north end of the island.  Myra and my sister were along for the ride.

Thursday, January 14, 2021
Number of days:
1 day

Cruised out onto the Caloosahatchee River to watch the sunset on esCape.

Tuesday, January 5, 2021
Number of days:
1 day

Cruised out onto the Caloosahatchee River to watch the sunset on esCape.