SpinSheet Racing Roundup May 5-7 NOOD Results and Photos

Here's your SpinSheet Racing Roundup for the weekend of May 5-7... NOOD photos, results, and more.

It was blowing stink on Sunday at the NOOD. Photo by Dan Phelps

Sailors who compete in the Helly Hansen National Offshore One Design (NOOD) Regatta each spring are used to a variety of weather conditions---four seasons in one weekend sometimes. This year's edition of Sailing World's signature series, hosted at Annapolis Yacht Club, brought the rain and wind as forecast and ended with a gear-buster Sunday. Congratulations to Conor Hayes and his team on the J/80 More Gostosa, who were the overall winner of the event. Find top-three results below, complete results here, and downloadable on-water photos here for purchase. Sorry we couldn't get more fleets--there's only so much you can do on a photo boat in those conditions! Stay tuned for party pictures later today.

J/22 (27 boats)

1. Tejas, Terry Flynn, League City, TX, 4-3-1-3-1-3=15

2. Uncle Fluffy, Zeke Horowitz, Annapolis, 1-12-6-1-2-2=24

3. USA 789, Jake Doyle, Annapolis, 2-4-10-4-5/RDG-5/RDG=30

Alberg 30 (7 boats)

1, Argo, T.C. Williams, Arnold, 2-3-2-4-2=13

2. Latika, William Woodford, Havre de Grace, 3-4-1-5-1=14

3. Lin Gin, Tim Williams, Arnold, 1-1-5/RDG-3-4=14

Cal 25 (4 boats)

1. White Cap, Timothy Bloomfield, Sherwood Forest, 1-1-2=4

2. Chicken Little, Charlie Husar, Annapolis, 2-2-1=5

3, Harlequin, Leo Surla, Washington, 4-4-3=11

Dan Cheresh and his winning team on the C&C 30 Extreme2. Photo by Dan Phelps

Ensign (6 boats)

1, Chowder, William Murphey, Island Heights, NJ, 1-1-1-1-2=6

2. Never Enz, Peter Heffernan, Huntington, NY, 3-3-2-2-1=11

3. The White Lady, Peter Kogut, Pittsford, NY, 4-4-8/DNF-3-4=23

Division 2

J/70 (40 boats)

1, Midlife Crisis, Bruce Golison, Rossmoor, CA, 4-2-1-8-7=22

2. Savasana, Brian Keane, Weston, MA, 9-7-4-5-1=26

3. New Wave, Martin Kullman, St. Petersburg, FL, 15-6-2-3-3=29

4. Scamp, Will Welles, Portsmouth, RI, 13-3-11-2-5=34

5. Allan Terhune, Arnold, 8-16-8-1-2=35

J/70 Corinthian (17 boats)

1, Pinch and Roll, Jay Greenfield, Charleston, SC, 3-18-10-14-12=57

2, Muse, Heather Gregg/Joe Bardenheier, Boston, MA, 2-12-27-13-6=60

3, Leading Edge, Todd Hiller, Annapolis, 7-20-15-10-13=65

Viper 640 (12 boats)

1, Jenny, Jackson Benvenutti, New Orleans, LA, 2-1-12-1-1=17

2, Henry, Doug, David & Madeline, Henry Amthor, Hampton, VA, 4-10-4-4-3=25

3, Copperhead, Hugh Dougherty, Dundalk, 7-12-10-3-2=34

Photo by Dan Phelps/ SpinSheet

Division 3

J/24 (7 boats)

1, Bangor Packet, Tony Parker, Washington, DC, 1-1-1-1-3=7

2. Buxton, Peter Rich, Annapolis, 3-2-3-2-2=12

3. Spaceman Spiff, Pete Kassal, Annapolis, 4-3-2-3-1=13

J/30 (13 boats)

1, Totaled Mayhem, Doug/Amy Stryker, Crownsville, 1-2-1-2-5=11

2, Blue Meanie, Steve Buzbee, Highland Park, NJ, 2-1-3-1-4=11

3, Bebop, Bob Rutsch, Chevy Chase, 4-5-4-6-2=21

J/80 (20 boats)

1, More Gostosa, Conor Hayes, Gilford, NH, 3-4-1-1-1=10

2, USA 1162, John White, Annapolis, 4-1-2-2-6=15

3. Courageous, Gary Panariello, Sausalito, CA, 1-5-4-14-7=31

4. Vayu, David Andril, Arlington, VA, 5-6-8-12-3=34

Photo by Dan Phelps/ SpinSheet

Etchells (7 boats)

1, Caramba, Jose Fuentes, Washington, DC, 3-4-1-1-1=10

2, Cash Money, Matt Lalumiere, Chester, 1-3-2-2-2=10

3. R + D, Christopher Brady, Annapolis, 2-1-4-4-3=14

Division 4

J/35 (5 boats)

1. Aunt Jean, James Sagerholm/Jerry Christofel, Annapolis, 1-1-2=4

2. Abientot, Roger Lant, Alexandria, VA, 2-2-4=8

3. Medicine Man, Chuck Kohlerman, Aston, PA, 5-3-1=9

J/105 (22 boats)

1. Live Edge, Michael Mountford, Toronto, ON, 1-6-4=11

2. Bat IV, Andrew Kennedy, Washington, DC, 3-7-6=16

3. Mirage, Lewis/Salvesen, Annapolis, 6-1-10=17

4. Jester, Hugh Bethell, Baltimore, 9-9-1=19

5. DogHouse, Arthur Libby/Tom Carter, Severna Park, 5-4-13=22

J/111 (7 boats)

1. Skeleton Key, Peter Wagner, Atherton, CA, 1-1-1=3

2. Velocity, Martin Roesch, Fulton, 3-3-2=8

3. Bravo, Sedgwick Ward, Rye, NY, 6-4-3=13

C&C 30 (6 boats)

1. Extreme2, Dan Cheresh, Saugatuck, MI, 1-1-1-2-3/ZP=8

2. Don't Panic, Julian Mann, San Francisco, CA, 3-3-4-3-1=14

3. Nemesis, Walt Thirion, Annapolis, 2-2-3-5-2=14

Farr 30 (6 boats)

1. Ramrod, Rod Jabin, Annapolis, 1-1-2=4

2. Seabiscuit, Kevin McNeil, Annapolis, 2-3-1=6

3. Tangley, Peter Toombs, Charlottetown, PEI, 4-2-3=9

North Sails Rally Race

Cruisers (2 starters/finishers)

1. Magic 8 Ball (C&C 38), David Robinson, Annapolis, 2:57:44 c.t.

2. Celerity (Beneteau 473), Rick Lober, Dayton, +0:07:22 c.t.

Spinnaker (3 starters/finishers)

1. Jeroboam (Farr 400), Laurent Givry, Fairfax Station, VA, 2:43:46 c.t.

2. Orion (Hanse 371), Jon Opert, Galesville, +0:08:55 c.t.

Stay tuned to the June issue of SpinSheet for more.


...And from Southern Bay Racing News You Can Use by SpinSheet contributor Lin McCarthy...

Award Winners of the 2017 CCV Spring Series are: VOODOO 2,  COOL CHANGE,  ROUNDABOUT,  and MIDNIGHT MISTRESS.  

Since we couldn't be there last weekend, here's a shot of the winning Midnight MIstress team from the Screwpile Regatta 2015.

It was chilly and it was windy, and stuff was broken and crew were tested, and all in all it was a fine “series finale”  day.  Twenty-six (26) skippers and crew raced in the windy (15 to 18 knots) conditions with cold spray to boot. It was an appropriate day for the final day of the series. One of the most popular forms of equipment failure seemed to be a broken halyard. And, as the racing went on blown out sails caused a lot of grief. 

The first weekend of the series was a two race day with windward-leeward races.On the third Sunday of the Series, the format was the same.The second Sunday was a middle distance race (Race #3) around fixed marks in the harbor. 

Series standings (find full results here)

PHRF A (14 boats)

1.Leroi Lissenden, Voodoo 2 [3-2-3-1-3];

2.Neil Ford and Lis Biondi, Danger Paws [1-3-9-3-2];

3.Phil Briggs, Feather [2-1-5-7-5].  

PHRF B (12 boats) 

1.Rusty Burshell, Cool Change [1-1-1-2-3]; 

2.Ben Weeks and Michele Cochran, Rumble [2-3-2-3-1]; 

3.Bob Archer, Bad Habit [3-2-3-1-2]. 

PHRF C (5 boats) 

1.Alan Bomar, Roundabout [1-1-3-1-1]; 

2.Ben Cuker, Callinectes [2-2-1-2-2]; 

3.Steve Ritz, Excelsior [8dnc-8dnc-4-3-3]. 

PHRF Non-Spin (6 boats) 

1.Jake Brodersen, Midnight Mistress [1-1-3-1-1]; 

2.Alan Johnson, Seeker [2-2-5-2-2]; 

3.Jay Thompson, Restless [8dnc-8dnc-1-8dnc-8dnc]. 

Principal Race Officer – John McCarthy;  Signal Boats Skippers – Tricia Williams with Brian Deibler and Henry Hudgins;  Mark Boats – Dave Hamilton and Bill and David Gibbings.