J/24 East Coasts, Race to Rock Hall, Hospice Turkey Shoot, and More Racing

SpinSheet Racing Roundup October 4-6, 2019

Happy October, sailors! From the Race to Rock Hall north of the Bay Bridge, to Annapolis where J/24 sailors competed, to the Hospice Turkey Shoot on the Rappahannock, and south to Hampton, there were a lot of racing sailors in action this past weekend. Here’s your SpinSheet racing roundup for the weekend of October 4-6.

Team Sea Bags from Maine, with Ashley Love (selfie-ographer) at right.

J/24 East Coast Championships

Severn Sailing Association (SSA) hosted the J/24 East Coast Championships over the weekend off Annapolis. Find top three results below and full SSA results here
1. Honey Badger         Odenbach, Travis        Rochester YC 1          1          2          1          4          4          3          3            2          21.00   1

2. Bangor Packet         parker, anthony           AYC   5          5          6          3          2          2          4          8          3            38.00   2

3. ORION       Hillman, Mark SSA     4          12/20%            11        2          7          7          1          1          1            46.00   3

Racers sip and learn at the Saturday dock talk at the J/24 ECCs at SSA. Photo Facebook.com/j24ecc

J/70 Fall Series

SSA also hosted its J/70 Fall Series over the weekend. Find top three results below and full SSA J/70 results here

1. Tea Dance Snake    Bowe, Peter    6          2          2          3          2          3          1          19.00   1

2. Wild Child  Filter, Henry    1          3          3          9/NoFin           1          1          2          20.00   2

3. Brian Wood                       4          1          7          1          5          2          3          23.00   3

AYC Fall Series

Annapolis Yacht Club ran the second in its fall series over the weekend. Find cumulative AYC fall series results here. Find photos from LAST weekend by Will Keyworth here (and above!).

PSA Race to Rock Hall

SpinSheet Century Clubber Megs Bryant during PSA's Race to Rock Hall on Saturday. #spinsheet100

The Potapskut Sailing Association hosted its Race to Rock Hall from the mouth of the Magothy on Saturday, followed by a party at Haven Harbour Marina. Find top three results below and full PSA results here

NOTE: these are provisional results. There may be a few changes. We will post here if so.

Alberg 30

  1. Windswept      0          Lanny Helms              
  2. Carnival Lady             Barbara Vosbury                    
  3. Rinn Duin       0          Michael Meinhold  


  1. UltraViolet      78        Dave Prucnal              
  2. Split Decision              108      Jordan Tacchetti         
  3. Eighth Deadly Sin      72        Mike Mullarky   \


  1. Orion  Jon Opert       
  2. In The Red      Roger McLimans


  1. ENDLESS SUMMER            ALAN WEISS          
  2. Witch's Flower            Michael Johns  
  3. Heyday           Shepherd Drain           MRSA 


  1. Kokomo Express         Terri High / Brett Sorensen
  2. Bay Tripper     210      Ryan Sheaffer            

Mulithull A

  1. tHriLL Ride    Jim Parrott      
  2. OrgaZmatron  Josh Colwell  
  3. Triple Threat  Tim Lyons       

Multihull B

  1. Flipper                         John Wayshner           
  2. Narrow Escape            Ben Corson  
  3. Endurance                   Jeffrey Short              

CRCA ORR Racer-Cruiser

  1. A L'Assaut      Kurt Cerny     
  2. Swellville                    John Anderson           
  3. Flow    William Trainor  

CRCA Cruiser

  1. Celerity           Rick Lober     
  2. Minuet             Dwight Dick  
  3. Transition                    David Runkle             

CRCA-ORR Performance Cruiser

  1. Incommunicado          Edward Tracey          
  2. Mischief          Peter Henry    
  3. Lucky Eights              Keith Cole  

CRCA-ARC Spinnaker

  1. Dragonfly                    John Aellen 
  2. Mistral                         Don Clemens  
  3. Whistler           David Forsyth            

CRCA-ARC non-spin

  1. Curio  Michael Wingate         
  2. Celerity II                  
  3. Atlas    Peter Holden              

Southern Bay Scene

This just in from Lin McCarthy’s Southern Bay Racing News You Can Use:

Hospice Turkey Shoot Regatta


And, up on the Rappahannock, the Hospice Turkey Shoot Regatta got a full dose of Mariah.  Reports have Saturday winds gusting 15 to 20 from the NNE with 2 -2.5 ft seas. Conditions brought about some significant incidents and a number of retirements. 

Sunday the wind went to 12 gusting to 18 from the South. Conditions culminated in two dismastings, thankfully no injuries. The 2019 Hospice Turkey Shoot Regatta had 91 entries, 76 of which raced. 


Div 1: Frank Miller, Windblown; 

Div 2: Jesse Swartz, Irrational Exuberance; 

Div 3:Glenn Solt, Freedom;

Div 4: Donald Mense, Freedom II;

Div 5: Norman Faulkner, Country Woman; 

Div 6: Joe Lipe’ Plowshares;

 Div 7: Bill McClure, Thistledowne; 

Div 8: Robin Meigel, Pacem; 

Div 9: Charles Shaffner, Dolcefariente; 

Div 10: Mike Mitter, Jaunty.   

Charles Shaffner in Dolcefariente from York River Yacht Club was declared Overall Winner in his 1926 Herreshoff S wooden boat. RRYC won the John and Carole Jean McConnico trophy for the Best Yacht Club or Marina based on the finishes of their top three boats. Tom Chapman and Jerry Latell co-chaired this more than worthwhile Hospice regatta. For extensive Turkey Shoot results details and more click here

CCV Racing Fall Series Finale

After a number of light air days, the racers got their wish for wind in Hampton Roads waters too.  On Sunday, the final day of CCV Racing Fall Series racing brought a lovely racing breeze reported as 12 to 18 knots. Even though shifty, the zephyrs were the perfect way to end the series. 

Twenty-Eight (28) boats raced, the majority of them in the PHRF A fleet. 

Among the fleet was Dave Bouchard’s recently acquired J/36, BUMPS, formerly Sea Star. Dave and his wife Linda, have named the boat BUMPS in honor and memory of her former owner, Vernon “Bumps” Eberwine. 


PHRF A (16 boats):  1. Sledd Shelhorse, Meridian XI (Carkeek 40);  2.Ian Hill, Sitella (J111); 3.Leroi Lissenden, Voodoo2 (Tripp 38). 

PHRF B (9 boats): 1.Rusty Burshell, Cool Change (J30); 2.Ben Weeks and Michele Cochran, Rumble (J29); 3. Alan Bomar, Roundabout (J24).

PHRF Non-Spin (3 boats): 1.Cliff Porter, Tilt (Morgan 38); 2.Alan Johnson, Seeker (Ericson 34t);  3.Keith Midgette, Luna Blu (Bristol 39 YWL). 

Principal Race Officer-Brian Deibler;  Mark Boats: Marshall Findley and  Charlie Baker and Dave Gibbings; Official Scorer: Kim Deibler

Don’t see your club’s news here?
We count on clubs and sailors to send us news and photos by 9 a.m. on any given Monday. Send us your Chesapeake racing news and images, and we’re happy to share them! [email protected]

Our racing roundup is powered by Team One Newport